Elections2022: UNITA formalizes candidacy

Luanda – Angola’s main opposition party, UNITA, submitted Tuesday afternoon to the Constitutional Court (TC) its candidacy for participation in the general elections scheduled for 24 August, this year.

The party submitted a list containing 355 candidates for members of parliament.

This figure corresponds to 130 permanent candidates and 45 substitutes, for the national constituency, plus 90 permanent candidates and 45 substitutes for the 18 provinces of the country.

The list is led by Adalberto Costa Júnior as candidate for the Presidency of the Republic and Abel Chivukuvuku for the vice-Presidency.

According to the secretary-general of the party, Álvaro Daniel, the candidacy is backed by over 20,000 supporters who provided their signatures and necessary documentation.

This is the fourth political party to present its candidacy to the TC, less than four days before the end of the process that started on 6th June.

However, with 51 seats in the outgoing parliament, UNITA joins MPLA, the majority party with 150 deputies, and CASA-CE electoral coalition, the second largest political party in the opposition with 16 seats.

The National Patriotic Alliance (APN), a party with no seats in parliament, is also part of the group of political parties that have already submitted their candidacy to the TC for the August ballot.

There are roughly 14.39 million voters to cast their ballots, 22,560 of which will be abroad, where voting will take place for the first time in the country’s history.

The overseas vote will take place in 12 countries and 26 cities, whereby in the African continent the countries are South Africa (Pretoria, Cape Town and Johannesburg), Namibia (Windhoek, Oshakati and Rundu), the Democratic Republic of Congo (Kinshasa, Lubumbashi and Matadi), Republic of Congo (Brazzaville, Dolisie and Ponta Negra) and Zambia (Lusaka, Mongu, Kolwezi).

Voting will also be open to the Angolan diaspora in Brazil (Rio de Janeiro, Brasília and São Paulo), Germany (Berlin), Belgium (Brussels), France (Paris), United Kingdom (London), Portugal (Lisbon, Porto) and the Netherlands (Rotterdam).

UNITA was founded in 1966 by Jonas Savimbi and António da Costa Fernandes as a liberation movement, before becoming an armed rebellion after national independence in 1975.

With the signing of the Bicesse Peace Accords on May 31, 1991, which put an end to the one-party system then in effect in the country, UNITA was transformed into a political party.

The party is currently led by Adalberto Costa Júnior, former leader of the Parliamentary Bench (whip), who is running for the Presidency of Angola.

Source: Angola Press News Agency

Back To Top