MPLA recognizes first presidents

Luanda – The 6th MPLA Extraordinary Congress, held Saturday in Luanda, recognized the first two presidents of the party, Ilidio Machado and Mario Pinto de Andrade.

In this sense, the conclave, according to its final resolution, decided that the MPLA should honor, in due course, the two political individualities, as well as others that were at the genesis of political party.

The MPLA now officially has five presidents in its history, namely Ilidio Machado, Mario Pinto de Andrade, AgostinhoNeto, Jose Eduardo dos Santos and, henceforth, JoAPound oLourenco.

Ilidio Tome Alves Machado was the first president of the MPLA until he was arrested in 1959 for subversive activities against the Portuguese regime at that time.

As for Mario Pinto de Andrade, he became a political activist in the 1960s and served as MPLA president between 1959 and 1962 and his secretary general between 1962 and 1972.

Due to the imprisonment, AgostinhoNeto was honorary president of the party since 1961, having assumed effective leadership of MPLA in 1963, in Kinshasa, capital of the then Zaire, now Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC).

Neto held MPLA chairmanship until his death in September 1979, the month in which Jose Eduardo dos Santos took the lead, which ended on September 8, 2018.

From now on, the destinies of MPLA and Angola will be in the hands of JoAPound oLourenco, the fifth president of the party and the third of the Republic.

Source: Angola Press News Agency